Power bleed brakes

gmemony2

Anyone have a recommendation on a bleeder that would work well for one person. I have a pump for the bleeder valves, but would rather not do it this way. It's pretty obvious that the fluid has never been changed and it's filthy. I have a suspicion that the master cylinder may be on it's way out as well, but wanted to give a fresh fluid change a try first.

Goodgollyjosh

I wanted to do this myself but I found that I could only power bleed the front calipers. The rear wheel cylinders I couldn't open and pull vacuum at the same time. There wasn't enough room if I recall. I ended up having a buddy come over and pump the brakes the old fashioned way.

turbodig

I've had reasonable luck with speed bleeders and an HF vacuum bleed kit.
I think having someone pump the brakes manually would have been lots faster.

Note - if you still have the ABS, you'll want to find someone with a Tech1 to run the ABS module through a bleed cycle. They get full of air on most brake service operations.

DaveP's Ghost

I purchased a Motive pressure bleeder a few years ago for the Cayenne and two 911s I take car of for their owners. I've since purchased adapters for several other cars including the 2nd Gen master cyl that is on my Ty, a universal for the ZR-1, and a Ford for the Super Duty. After 50 years of the pump-up and release, I wonder why I waited so long to get a Motive.