stock wheel striping & recoating

Dan B

tires are off wheels...wondering what products to use to strip/clean & re-coat stock wheels, & where to get the products. thanks

SY2932

Administrator
Re: stock wheel striping & recoating

"Aircraft remover" is the way to go, pretty much all the automotive chain stores have it. It can be had in aerosol or metal can form. For best results, the temperature should be over 70 degrees when you apply it and be sure to wear gloves... Some folks like to get a big container large enough to set the rim in and put it face down in the stripper.

As far as protecting the surface afterwards, Zoop seal is one of the more popular sealers out there. However, I have no experience using it. The Eastwood Company has a product known as diamond clear that I have used with decent results. On buffed aluminum, it will dull the surface slightly. Shouldn't make a difference on a stock finish though.

Dan B

that is some damn good information man, thank-you :tup:

Aeroking

e.i.

Yeah i did, aircraft stripper, scotchbrite pads, with soap/water, then Duplicolor Spray clear.

Before
Syclone%20Wheel%20net.jpg

After
01.07.07-16.JPG

Last edited:

ShuggsRR

Donating Member

Aeroking said:
Yeah i did, aircraft stripper, scotchbrite pads, with soap/water, then Duplicolor Spray clear.

Holy crap! NICE!!!!

Aeroking

e.i.

they were actually starting to pit, thats why i scuffed them with the scotchbrite, from a foot away, you can see some high/low shadows, but beyond that they look good.

syclomatic

Syclone #2481

I am thinking about doing the same thing in the next few days, but what would i do if i wanted to polish the wheels, i have never worked with aluminum before. Also, what finisher would be the best for polished wheels?

Aeroking

e.i.

a friend of mine polished his

09.10.06-10.JPG

if i rememer correctly, he used like 3000 grit sand paper, and then a buffing kit from Eastwood Company